My Heart Belongs to… God!!!

The Love of my Life is God!

Some people might think that’s crazy but God is the only constant in my life apart from myself, and I’m not even sure the latter is veritable. Psalm 27 begins:

“The Lord is my light and my salvation, whom should I fear?
The Lord is the fortress of my life, whom should I dread?
When the wicked arise against me to eat me up,
They, my opponents, my enemies, are the ones who stumble and fall;
Though an army pitch camp against me, my heart will not fear;
Though war break out against me, my trust will never be shaken.”

– Psalm 27: 1-3

Another verse of the Psalm reads thus:

“Though my father and mother forsake me, YHVH will gather me up.”

– Psalm 27: 10

The implications of this alone are astounding. Even when parents fail, God is there; in danger of the worst kind, God is there. A long time ago I moved past faith in God to knowing that God is there, or here rather.

The thing is, God is within us and all around us:

“Rather, the Kingdom of Heaven is inside you and it is outside you.”

Gospel of St. Thomas Didymos

This is how we know that God is not “Our Father who art in Heaven“. No, He is “Our Father who art omnipresent; or as the original prayer in Galilean Aramaic reads:

Abwun d’bwischmaya

“O Thou, from whom the Breath of Life comes, who fills all realms of light and vibration”

Well! That seems way more thorough! Indeed, it is because if his presence that my heart truly belongs to God. While I enjoy the so-called benefits, or rather instincts of humanity, my heart –  this muscle that pumps blood around, which carries in it the life force, from him “whom the Breath of Life (itself) comes” – belongs to the One that has given me life, that has seen fit to sustain it, that shall grant me death; but more, has seen fit to be with me through it all!

Who could be greater?

Leave a Reply

